Romanian inventor runs against 64 foreign entrepreneurs for EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year prize in Monaco

A Romanian will compete for the first time against 64 other entrepreneurs from around the world for the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year prize. Romanian inventor and entrepreneur Mircea Tudor, president of MB Telecom, will represent Romania in the competition to be held between June 3 and 7 in Monaco. It is for the first time that Romania sends a representative to this competition. The full list of country winners the Romanian will compete against is here.

Tudor, a serial Romanian inventor, won the Entrepreneur of the Year award in Romania in 2014. He was chosen from 40 Romanian entrepreneurs from different areas of activity. Mircea Tudor runs the only company in the world which won the Grand Prize of the Geneve Inventions Fair, in 2009 and 2013. His company has introduced a new security technology for civil and military aviation, Roboscan Aeria. “I want to show the world that Romania has the technical capacity to become a supplier of security solutions applicable on a global scale,” said Tudor upon leaving for Monaco.

When Mircea Tudor founded MBT in 1994, he financed the company with his savings and by reinvesting all the profits. “Massively reinvesting in research and development is the secret behind my entrepreneurial success,” he says. “I can say with total conviction that investing in research is the most profitable form of investment.”

The winner of this competition will be announced on June 6. Prior to that, the event will include individual interviews of all entrepreneurs with the jury and the award ceremonies, as well as speeches by important business leaders, panels with entrepreneurs and investors, including Biz Stone – co-founder  of Twitter, Howard Schultz – Chairman and CEO of Starbucks and Bill Ford – Executive Chairman al Ford Motor Company,  as well as other events of interest.

The competition’s jury is made of Rebecca MacDonald, Executive Chair – Just Energy Group, who acts as jury president, and Fadi Ghandour – Aramex and Wamda Capital, Nobuyuki Idei – Quantum Leaps Corporation, Ronald J. Kruszewski – Stifel Financial Corporation, Solange Olszewska – Solaris Bus & Coach S.A., Tan Sri Liew Kee Sin – EcoWorld Development Group Berhad and Michael Wu – Maxim’s Caterers Limited. They will take into account six criteria when deciding the winner: entrepreneurial spirit, financial performance, strategic vision, global and community impact, innovation capacity and personal integrity.

[email protected]