Romanian parliament approves ‘Ponta II cabinet,’ new ministers sworn in at Cotroceni Palace

The Romanian Parliament has approved the new government, dubbed Ponta II by the local press, and the cabinet ministers have been sworn in  a ceremony at the Cotroceni Palace with President Traian Basescu. The joint session of deputies and senators passed the new cabinet by 402 votes in favor to 120 against earlier today (December 21 ). Out of the 586 MPs in total, 522 were present.

PM Victor Ponta thanked parliament for its confidence in the new cabinet, saying it was a reflection of the trust the Romanian public had put in the government at the elections. The prime minister added that despite the upcoming holiday season, Romania’s government had work to do and referred specifically to the budget.

The president congratulated the newly sworn in cabinet members on the successful vote in parliament, adding that 4.5 million Romanians had put their trust in them and that they must drag the Romanian economy into growth.

The new Ponta cabinet features three Vice PMs: Liviu Dragnea, acting as Regional Development and Public Administration Minister, Daniel Chițoiu as Public Finance Minister, and Gabriel Oprea.

Daniel Constantin is to take office as Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Titus Corlatean as Minister of Foreign Affairs, Radu Stroe as Minister of Internal Affairs, Mircea Dusa as Minister of National Defense and Mona Pivniceru as Minister of Justice.

The list continues with Rovana Plumb, who is the Minister for Environment and Climate Change, Varujan Vosganian as Minister of Economy, Dan Nica as Minister for the Information Society. Eugen Nicolaescu is the Minister of Health, while Remus Pricopie is Minister of Education. Mariana Campeanu was reappointed as Minister of Labor, Family, Social Protection and the Elderly. Eugen Teodorovici is in the newly created Ministry of EU Funds, while Relu Fenechiu is to take charge of the Ministry of Transportation.

Daniel Constantin Barbu is the Minister of Culture, while Nicolae Banicioiu is the Minister for Youth and Sports.

No change in the list of the six delegate ministers initially announced by PM Ponta on Wednesday 19: Liviu Voinea takes over the Budget, Dan Sova for infrastructure projects of national interest and foreign investments, Mihnea Costoiu covers Higher Education, scientific research and technological development, Mihai Voicu deals with the Relationship with Parliament, while Cristian David is to take charge of the relationship with all Romanians abroad. Doina Pana will deal with matters concerning social dialogue.

[email protected]

photo source: